30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know!

1. The illness I live with is: ulcerative colitis
2. I was diagnosed with it in the year: 2010
3. But I had symptoms since: years before that 
4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: becoming an advocate for my health 
5. Most people assume: that I fake my illness
6. The hardest part about mornings are: waking up with stomach aches 
7. My favorite medical TV show is: Greys Anatomy
8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: unfortunately my cell phone. Lol. 
9. The hardest part about nights are: nothing really, I am a night owl! 
10. Each day I take “2″ pills & vitamins. (No comments, please)
11. Regarding alternative treatments I: nothing. I tried to do the whole holistic approach but my colitis was too far along and it wasn’t working
12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: how about no illnesses!! 
13. Regarding working and career: just going from job to job till I figure out what I want to do as a career. Luckily my mgr is super cool with my illness and is patient with me when I’m not feeling good
14. People would be surprised to know: I speak a little French! 
15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: doctors appointments and blood work all the time again
16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: use private restrooms when other aren’t allowed too! 
17. The commercials about my illness: we don’t have cable so I don’t see any
18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: enjoy food. I am a foodie and certain foods make me flare up 😞
19. It was really hard to have to give up: I haven’t really given up anything, although the I know I need to cut down on the amount of sugar, processed foods, carbs that I eat
20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: nothing yet
21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: be happy!
22. My illness has taught me: to be an advocate for my health
23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: “one thing” lol…..marriage is only for a man and a woman. Really grinds my gears! 
24. But I love it when people: are nice and welcoming and don’t judge
25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: “to everything turn, turn, turn.” it means a lot to me because the pastor of my parents church read that in the eulogy at my uncles memorial service. 
26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: don’t give up and don’t let it get you down
27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: the anount of people who genuinely care about me, and worry about me ☺️
28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: my parents and my boyfriend always send me texts wishing that I felt better. It always makes me smile!
29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: I am a part of this community and I want to do everything I can to help bring awareness to other people who don’t know about it 
30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: happy

Leave a Reply

